top of page
barry sharpe

The award was instituted in April of 1995 at the Board of Directors’ meeting held in Toronto. It is to be presented to CSLA directors and advisors who have given outstanding service to the organization. During the January 1996 Board meeting, it was pointed out that this award must be used “sparingly” because it is intended to be something special.

Barry Sharpe was an activity director at Yorkton Regional High School, and Barry, along with his students and staff, ran the very first Canadian Student Leadership Conference. It was Barry’s vision and efforts that inspired other advisors from across the country to formalize student leadership.

This award is the highest recognition that an advisor can receive in the realm of student leadership and activities. It is given in recognition of exemplary effort and inspiration to a person who has furthered the cause of student leadership and activities in Canada.

Barry Sharpe Award Winners


Murray Baker, Kitchener                        CSLC 1995
Wayne MacCullough, Burnaby             CSLC 1996
Josephine Budgell, Bishop’s Falls       CSLC 1997
Dave Conlon, Guelph                               CSLC 1998
George Takashima, Lethbridge             CSLC 1999
John Thompson, Cambridge                 CSLC 2000
Gane Olsen,  Edmonton                          CSLC 2001
Tam Fawcett,  Halifax                              CSLC 2003
Bill Conconi,  Victoria                              CSLC 2006
Al LaFontaine,  Mission                           CSLC 2008
Don Wheler,  Lashburn                            CSLC 2009
Don McKay,  Bathurst                             CSLC 2010
Brent Allen,  Wainwright                         CSLC 2011
Don Homan, Prince George                    CSLC 2013
Dorothy Karlson, Cochrane                   CSLC 2014
Nicole Haire, Summerside                       CSLC 2015
Stu Saunders, Orillia                                CSLC 2018
Joanne Jensen, Weyburn                       CSLC 2023
Denise Emond-Gendron, Edmundston  CSLC 2023
bottom of page